Action and Adventure · Books · Fantasy · Review

#BookReview | BLACKWING by ED McDONALD

Blackwing (Ravens' Mark #1)
MY THOUGHTS:
This was a difficult book for me to rate, there is a huge amount of detail and also a lot of things I liked about it, but then some things that left me frustrated.  The characters on the whole were well described, my initial thoughts on the main protagonist and narrator, Galharrow, was that he was arrogant and pompous, but as the story unfolded and more was discovered my opinion changed, thinking him to be tenacious and steadfast.  The other human characters were equally hard and rugged due to the post-apocalyptic style of the setting, living on the edge of the Misery, a  desolate wasteland inhabited by a number of strange and terrifying creatures, sorcerers, wizards and god-like beings.   These creatures I found to be less well described and at times slightly confusing.  When the main defence system goes down. it is responsible for keeping the things that live in the Misery staying in there, it is then up Galharrow and his band of men / mercenaries to help try to save the city.
On the whole I enjoyed this book, but the erratic pace of it and not fully understanding some of the aspects took the edge of it for me, also the lack of description for the creatures in the Misery.  On the plus side the magic, action and human characters were well described.
I think this would appeal to readers of YA Fantasy and Adult Fantasy genres, with a little bit of a horror steam punk feel to it.  Also made me think a little of Frank Herbert and Dune.
I will be keeping my eye out for Book 2 as there were things I enjoyed.
I wish to express my thanks to Netgalley, Orion Publishing Group and Gollancz for allowing me a copy of this book for my honest and unbiased review.

SYNOPSIS:

Set on the ragged edge of a postapocalyptic frontier, Blackwing is a gritty fantasy debut about a man’s desperate battle to survive his own dark destiny…

Nothing in the Misery lasts…

Under a cracked and wailing sky, the Misery is a vast and blighted expanse, created when the Engine, the most powerful weapon in the world, was unleashed against the immortal Deep Kings. Across the wasteland, teeming with corrupted magic and malevolent wraiths, the Deep Kings and their armies are still watching—and still waiting.

Ryhalt Galharrow is no stranger to the Misery. The bounty hunter journeys to a remote outpost, armed for killing both men and monsters, and searching for a mysterious noblewoman. He finds himself in the middle of a shocking attack by the Deep Kings, one that should not be possible. Only a fearsome show of power from the very woman he is seeking saves him.

Once, long ago, he knew the woman well, and together they stumble onto a web of conspiracy that threatens to unmake everything they hold dear and end the fragile peace the Engine has provided. Galharrow is not ready for the truth about the blood he’s spilled and the gods he’s supposed to serve…

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 960 KB
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Gollancz (27 July 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English

AMAZON LINK

 

MANY THANKS FOR READING MY POST

